top of page
  • Ahmed Almejerfi

"The Forgotten Soul" by Ahmed Almejefi


In 2012, in Madison square garden, there lived a man called John. John was a hard worker and

the last among his friends. He had a curly hair, wrinkled face and a horrible voice. Unlike him,

his friends had a very great charisma that attracted the workers in the company including him.

He worked in Agilent Technologies; An American public company for research, manufacturing

and development. He was very jealous of them, and his only dream was that one day he would be

just like them. In his way back home, he saw a mirror that he really liked; designed in a beautiful

way. He saw an old lady who was selling her old stuff and he went there.

He said to her, “I like this mirror, how much is it?”

She said, “ It’s worth nothing, but it might worth everything to you. Remember that the

reflection in the mirror is a reflection of your own soul and…..”

She was interrupted when he said, “yes, yes whatever. Don’t waste my time. Since it’s free of

charge, I will take it now if you don’t mind”

On the next day, as he was planning to go to the company to do a speech, he met one of his

friends in the company. He said to him, “Why don’t you change your face? Ha Ha Ha! You will

never make it there, everybody will ignore you as they always did”. He went back to his home

and looked at himself in the mirror. He hated himself and hated the way he looked. He said, “If I

ever had the chance to change myself, I would do it. It doesn’t matter the cost.” After he said

that, his wrinkles disappeared and he became a handsome man. He was very happy about it, and

he went out to his work since it was an important day in the company. Accidently, he met his

uncle who told him that his haircut was not cool and that he had to change it. John went back

again to his house. He looked at the mirror and thought about his haircut. Though he liked it, he

changed it just to satisfy his uncle. On his way to the company, he did a rehearsal with his

friends before the speech. Everybody kept wondering about his amazing new features except his

horrible voice. They were closing their ears, nobody wanted to listen to him. When he saw that,

he went to the mirror but nothing changed. He asked it over and over.

He went back to the old lady and asked her “ Why is this mirror doesn’t work anymore?”

“Is that you, hmmm it seems that the mirror accepted you” and she continued, “ I wanted to warn

you that this mirror is not a normal mirror and that you might sell your soul to take it, but you

don’t have time to listen to me”

“Selling my soul? You are a crazy old lady, I don’t care about my soul if it will change my

horrible voice.”

“but your voice is not bad”

“ you don’t know anything, just let it work.”

“Alright, here you go”

His voice changed totally to a beautiful voice. When he went there and did his speech, they

asked about this charisma; how and why he got it! He said that he did it all by himself through


hard work, and that nobody gave him any help. He said that, “ Forget about my old name, my

name is William. I am a new man.” After he said that, he changed completely. His voice became

similar to a pig’s voice. he was bold and his body was hairy. Everybody was scared of him. he

went back to the old lady.

He told her, “What happened to me? I look like a monster”

“ This is your choice, I warned you about selling your soul, but you said I don’t care” she

continued “ now your soul is the property of the mirror”

“You lied to me!”

“ No, I didn’t. I tried to warn you at the beginning about the reflection of your soul, but you said

you don’t have time. when you rejected your own self after the speech, the mirror took your soul

and everything that belonged to it”

In an angry temper, “ I will break your mirror in the same way it broke me”

When he broke it, he exploded into pieces as the mirror took all that remained from his soul. The

old lady took the mirror and put it for sale.


The End

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page